A morning out

A beautiful spring day. Caught the bus to Cwmbran (I knitted both to and on the return journey) to see a couple of people’s work at Lantarnam Grange Arts Centre . First time I’ve been since they’ve had a move around and the gallery space has been improved greatly. The shop has changed places with the small back room gallery so allowing the magnificent fire place and panelling to be seen in the larger room, giving far more space for the artists.

It was here Sasha Kingston has her art on display. She uses paper, machine stitch and text.

In the next gallery Ruth McLees  showed her recent work. I was interested to see that she has added industrial resins to her portraits on vintage fabrics and that she has come out of the frame.

Not forgetting my piece of daily knitting. One chosen at random so here is laburnum stitch. Although laburnum is a nostalgic flower for me as I had a large tree in my childhood garden. I loved the way the petals cascaded down the stems.
Of course I was warned time and time again not to eat the seeds.

And here is my daily piece.

Leave a Reply

