Time to think about installing my work

A day in uni today. I’ve been allocated my space for the degree show so now I can really apply myself and begin to construct my installation. Hopefully four weeks from today it’ll all be up and looking magnificent but I’m expecting several ups and downs to occur before then.

I went to Anna’s space today. She’s in the process of decorating many, many ceramic vessels and when I asked her about choosing a stitch she said “I want one with lots of layers going up, building and stacking, historic shapes, shapes that mean something to me, not decorative, more to do with the form rather than the decoration.” She has written about her work on her website.

We had a look at some stitches and windmill stitch caught my eye. I knitted a piece then continued by picking up the stitches along the edge of the piece once I’d cast off along the top. This has added to the abstract look of the work, giving it a non decorative outcome.

Here we both are – it looks as if we’re ignoring each other but we chatted about our work all the time.
Leave a Reply

