Book Making

Yesterday I mentioned my book making class so I thought I’d show some of the books I’ve made.

The first one is a flag book. I was delighted when I saw the concept as the format is ideal for me to store all my labels I used on my Within a Diary work.

The next book was a piano hinged book. It was easier to make than I thought – just a lot of pieces to assemble before starting. I like that each set of signatures (pages) are sewn in separately rather than bound together. This makes it easier as there is no chance of them moving out of line. 

However, I’m not convinced that the signatures have been put in the correct place in the accordion folds – I’ll make another one with then sewn into the valleys rather than on the mountains (the up & down folds) and see if it lies better.

Leave a Reply

