I walked to the National Museum of Wales in dazzling sunshine to go to a ‘behind the scenes’ visit. Today’s talk was in the print room where any piece of art on paper is kept. The curators showed the group some examples of Gwen & Augustus John’s finished work and sketch books. I was heartened to see that the work in Gwen’s sketch book was often a mere suggestion of an idea – a rough pencil mark or dab of watercolour. On first glance it didn’t look like the work of an accomplished artist. I wish I could free myself up more!

Before I went into the building I looked up at the dome and saw the blue sky – such clarity and intensity. I wish I’d walked a little to my right in order to shoot a more square on image.

Leave a Reply

