Whilst watching a programme on modern artists from Cornwall I was reminded of my holiday in St Ives, the first one taken without any parents. I went with a school friend and we were oblivious to the art scene around us – preferring to bake ourselves on the beach by day and drink our three barley wines apiece in the Sloop Inn at night. I was to return home to receive my dismal A level results with a handful of pebbles to remind me of those glorious days.

Those pebbles have long gone but I’ve a dish of stones and shells, picked up from forgotten places, which stays on my window sill outside so it was the obvious choice for today’s photo. The dish is sitting on a bed of snow.

Leave a Reply

