A weekend away

The highlight was the exhibition Master Drawings at the Ashmolean Museum. I have a negative attitude to my own drawing ability (well, I have little,) so I tend not to look at others but this exhibition was delightful. The drawings seemed much more personal than the paintings the same artists made. As I walked round I thought of them sneezing over their work, maybe dropping a crumb as they ate a  piece of bread; there was an immediacy there. I observed the different marks used to produce the allusion of muscles – some lines where strong and firm whilst other artists used the lightest of touches.

 

Giovanni Francesco Barbieri An angel in flight, c.1648. Red chalk, 27.3 x 26.8 cm. LI032.31© Ashmolean Museum, University of Oxford.

I could add many more images but chose this one as a reminder as my friend was so taken with it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

