Dialogues on Conflict: Feminist Perspectives and Art Practice

This seminar was one in a series of dialogues run by Artes Mundi.

One of the statements made was that younger women are daughters of the first wave of feminists and the message they are giving out is that they feel they no longer need feminism, they see it as irrelevant to their lives and as a result  what progress has been made is being eroded.

Here I wish to keep a note of some of the artists spoken about.

Devotional_Wallpaper

Sonia Boyce, Devotional wallpaper

This caught my eye as the names refer to black females in the music industry. I felt connected with it through my Mothers work.

Now I’ve looked at some of the other artists mentioned I realise I don’t wish to keep a note of them as I doubt I’ll be wanting to investigate their work further. I can’t be interested in all I see, I have to be selective.

After hearing the speakers I understand a little more why young people feel so disconnected with the feminist movement.

 

Leave a Reply

