The Round of the Degree Shows

It’s that time of year when I visit at least seven venues for degree shows, the furthest  is 30 miles away, some are within 10 miles and a couple I can walk to. Although I want to give each student’s work a balanced consideration I find it impossible to do so. I attempt to read the carefully crafted statement placed against each work ….. and I know what it’s like to produce such a text as I am requested to do likewise for my exhibition work……. but I’ve become jaded as I read the same convoluted blurb. Female body image is the hottest topic, the dysfunctional family along with the depiction of mental and physical illnesses.

To be allowed to immerse oneself in the joy of creating an art work for the shear joy of it seems to be frowned upon nowadays. Here I’m questioning my own practice.

Leave a Reply

