How to rediscover my creativity

After physically tidying up my work space I’ve gone on to cleaning up my laptop – deleting redundant files, images, videos etc. I came across this collection of how others approach their work…. the message that comes across is ‘don’t think about things too much or analyse too deeply; just do it. When we have to justify creativity stilted thoughts arise.’

I have been at fault this last year whilst studying for my MA – too much thinking about how I can place my work to fit in with others’ thoughts. I need to free myself.

‘My own method is to put myself in a state of receptivity during the day. I sit about sometimes for quarter of an hour or more, wondering what on earth I am doing, and suddenly I get an idea of something. Either it is the beginning of a title or just the germ of a visual image. Later on, if I’m stuck with a half finished painting, I might take a snooze and after that it comes together quite simply. It may well be that we hunt too much when we are completely on the alert. Too much awareness can be as inhibiting as too little.’  Eileen Agar

 ‘In play the mind is prepared to accept the unimagined and the incredible, to enter a world where different laws apply, to be free, unfettered.’ Hugo Rahner

 ‘Through the subconscious – sleeping on it – solving problems some people listen to music switch off rational brain- trust the unconscious so letting the conscious speak  Rainer Maria Rilke (4 December 1875 – 29 December 1926) was a Bohemian–Austrian poet and art critic.  – ‘Everything is gestation and then bringing forth. To let each impression and each germ of feeling come to completion wholly in itself, in the dark, in the inexpressible, the unconscious, beyond the reach of one’s own intelligence, and await with deep humility and patience the birth-hour of new clarity: that alone is living the artist’s life:’

 ‘Hare Brain Tortoise Mind’   by Guy Claxton argues not logical thought – not from a to b – not linear but   wool gathering, daydreaming ruminating, now scientific justification for valuing these way of thinking. If people are asked to justify these ways of thinking then stilted thoughts arise stunting creativity. Hunches, inklings impressions contain valuable intimations. ‘Time is modern concept’  cannot waste it – research on highly creative people the knack of toggling  between purposeful analytical way of thinking – more dreamy way of thinking – not 1st class and 3rd class but to be used together – allies of thinking.

Mozart wrote,  “When I am… completely myself, entirely alone and of good cheer — say, travelling in a carriage, or walking after a good meal, or during the night when I cannot sleep; it is on such occasions that my ideas flow best and most abundantly.

“Whence and how they come, I know not; nor can I force them. Those ideas that please me I retain in memory…[and] if I continue in this way, it soon occurs to me how I may turn this or that morsel to account…

All this fires my soul, and, provided I am not disturbed, my subject enlarges itself, becomes methodised and defined, and the whole, though it be long, stands almost complete and finished in my mind, so that I can survey it, like a fine picture or a beautiful statue, at a glance… What a delight this is I cannot tell! All this inventing, this producing, takes place in a pleasing lively dream.”

Now we have been lead to believe that answers have to be manufactured through rational thinking.

Be helpless, dumbfounded,
Unable to say yes or no.
Then a stretcher will come from grace
to gather us up.

We are too dull-eyed to see that beauty.
If we say we can, we’re lying.
If we say No, we don’t see it,
That No will behead us
And shut tight our window onto spirit.

So let us rather not be sure of anything,
Beside ourselves, and only that, so
Miraculous beings come running to help.
Crazed, lying in a zero circle, mute,
We shall be saying finally,
With tremendous eloquence, Lead us.
When we have totally surrendered to that beauty,
We shall be a mighty kindness.

Rumi

Surrender to the inspiration – don’t struggle – don’t expect the answer to come when deliberately thinking.

 

Leave a Reply

