Research for Rajasthan Tour – Day Two

’27th Oct Breakfast is at the Hotel. Morning, enjoy half day visit to Old Delhi’s cloth and embellishment market. Lunch will be on direct payment basis. In the afternoon, visit Dilli Haat. Stay overnight at Hotel in Delhi.’

A day of wandering round the markets looking at the fabrics and embellishments for sale. I’m unsure which one we are going to in the morning as, as expected, there are many, many textile markets but I’m sure they’ll all be a delight. Dilli Haat is an open air craft bazaar and eatery run but the Tourist Department and covers 6 acres. I never can visualize how large an acre is and, having looked it up, all comparisons seem to be with football pitches. I’m guessing then it’ll be a quarter the size of the recreational ground in front of my house.

Last time I was in India I bought a beautifully carved elephant from such an emporium. At that Tourist shop prices were fixed but I was still offered a ‘best price discount’. This elephant is about 40 cms high – far too big to put in my back pack and I was still travelling around the country so she was wrapped in a sarong, a bit like Dick Whittington’s bundle, and accompanied me on the buses, trains and planes home. I know she is a female elephant as on my journey I was given two small ones – on separate occasions – her babies!

P1020967

P1020969

I reckoned I paid about £18.00 for her – but with priceless memories!

One thought on “Research for Rajasthan Tour – Day Two

  1. Pingback: Rajasthan Tour – The Reality – Day Two | dorcaspennyfather

Leave a Reply

