UDO

UDO at G39  04/10/2014 – 13/12/2014

A very busy opening to this exhibition of sculpture by Carwyn Evans. It was a reminder that I can’t enjoy everything I see but there were aspects of it I appreciated.

The entrance was through a narrow sloping corridor then I had to negotiate a cattle grid – this literally took me out of my comfort zone. I admire the use of materials as they have been carefully considered and the contrast between the agricultural elements and haute couture sparked a confrontation between the two aspects.

At the bottom of an A4  sheet full of information about the work was this statement……’In an artworld that is increasingly global a desirable position for internationally practising artists is to be of no-place – autobiographical details or narratives should be avoided.’

Images from Wales Art Review

Carwyn-Evans-UDO-Joao-picture-5 UDO Carwyn-Evans-UDO-Joao-picture-1

Leave a Reply

