Stroud International Textiles – Trail 2015

My sixth visit to Stroud International Textiles Trail – this year no rain but again I took the mini bus tour around the area.

First stop was to see the work of Liz Brooke Ward an embroiderer who takes the foundation of her large wall hangings from nature and fragments of remembered verse. Here’s one base on lichens.lichensonl2largeAnnie Hutchinson was also showing her humorous needle felted and embroidered creatures.

Untitled

Seeing other artists’ workbooks reminded me I’ve been neglectful – I’ve not had an ongoing visual journal since I left uni…..I must return to keeping one… I think that’s why I’m not producing any new work.

P1000601 - Copy

P1000602 - Copy

I’ve admired Matthew Harris‘s work since attending a talk given by him several years ago where he introduced me to the joys of working with dust sheets.Untitled vCrumb Cloth 162 x 90cm

In Tara Davidson’s studio, a spit away from Matthew’s cottage, she was showing her ceramic bowls.

Untitled vc

Sarah Burghard is a commercial designer who offers her clients individual commissions. In her delightful house were examples of her work

MG_6119

I bought a beautiful round basket from Susan Early at Frogmash Mill. No image as it’s for gift! But here’s a prize winning basket.

Untitled vcx

P1000607

Some bright recycled chairs.

Cleo Mussi uses discarded pieces of ceramics to make her mosaics – colourful and fun.

02p

 

At the Victoria Works a chance to see Dust to Dust by Penny Burnfield, a screen printed hanging.

P1000604 - Copy P1000605 - Copy

Time to visit the exhibition at the Museum in the park.

Ruth Harries‘ new work Red Cross Series was a delight to see although I was a little unsure about placing the dramatic black and red hangings against a red wall and the other pieces displayed in a reflective glass cabinet. I thought both detracted from showing Ruth’s talent.

Untitled vcxb

 

Red-Cross-100

Detail of The Red Cross Series.

Caroline Dear works with natural occurring materials – I felt there was a wonderful quietness about her installation of three mantles.

P1000610 P1000611 P1000612 P1000613P1000609

A selection of grasses and other plant material.P1000615 - Copy

Susie Gillespie is a weaver of flax she grows herself; she also incorporates antique linen yarn, nettle yarn then adds gesso to her wall hangings. The result is raw and intriguing.

I’ve looked at Susanna Bauer‘s work previously. She uses found natural objects an embroiders or crochets onto/into them.

P1000625 - Copy

P1000621 - Copy P1000622 P1000623 - CopyHer work resonates with me as we both take one object and transform it by the addition of yarn.

As does Rozanne Hawksley. Her three pieces Look on Small Beautiful Things are a departure from the rich but often dark work I’ve seen before.

P1000627 - Copy P1000632

Kerry Jameson is a ceramist by training but her work is given an added dimension and interest by combining  mixed media. A fun piece to end my day with.

Leave a Reply

