Collagraph Workshop – Day Three

Time to paddle around in the shallow end by myself. Dawn was on hand for when I got stuck but most of the time left me to get on with it. I appreciated this as it allowed me to make mistakes and learn from them.

A few weeks ago I was informed by a posh lady ‘My people come from…’ I was captivated by both what she said and the manner in which she said it… ‘May peepull cume frrum’  all very refined!  So before I left home I’d taken an idea from my previous workshop and stitched the phrase onto cloth.  I thought I’d use just a piece of it but instead used it intact.

P1000733

Firstly I made a plaster cast by pressing the fabric, face down, into the wet plaster and peeling it off when dry.

P1000732

Then I PVA’d the fabric onto another plate. Initially I forgot to stitch the text in reverse so I had to unpick it – the memory of this could still be seen at the bottom.

P1000740

I decided to print in a sepia tone – mixing the ink.

P1000741

A colour test – the lighter one mixed with extender.

P1000775

Fabric print – too darkP1000776

A little better with more extender mixed with the ink.

P1000770

Plaster print.

P1000774

Plaster print with colour added.

The two methods gave diverse results.  The plaster plate turned out more organic – the plaster wasn’t 100% dry when I removed the cloth and some came away at the bottom. It looks like embroidered initials but could have been a disaster. The fabric glued onto the plate showed more of the warp & weft, the frayed edges and creases. Then there was the resultant text – raised using the cast method and sunk using the fabric.

By this time I was just getting a grasp of how inking up affects the print but the clock demanded me to pack up. I have much to digest but feel confident to move forward with this process by myself.

Leave a Reply

