Collections of Nothing – William Davies King

Evocative Objects – Sherry Turkle

Comfort of Things – Daniel Miller

At my tutorial it was suggested I read about objects, people’s stashes and hoardings  but as I don’t place much sentimental value on things I wasn’t able to engage as fully as I might have done with the subject matter. I think I’ve lost and inadvertently or deliberately thrown so much stuff away  over my many years – would I be happier if I’d kept it? What do I regret no longer having? Yes, it would be fun to have my multi-coloured jacket I bought in 1969, ornaments that are now collectable (so have monetary value?), diaries and writings from long ago, more things of my parents……. but for what purpose?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.