The first post-parent holiday I took was to St Ives – back in the 1960s – it fulfilled my expectations. Lying on the beach during the day and, after the dinner in the hotel, back into town for three barley wines at The Sloop pub.  What fun my friend and I had………….

My visit fifty years later. A different friend but, still with the sense of adventure, we booked a very cheap coach trip. This time my expectations were low – you get what you pay for – so they weren’t high.

But wherever we go my friend and I embrace the humour of the situations we find ourselves in.

Just a few photos – Jamaica Inn

IMG_20180518_154541686

I walked into the bedroom to be greeted by this view over Carbis Bay.

IMG-20180518-WA0000.jpg

After dinner a walk down to the Bay – most of which was a building site.

The next day to the Tate – what a joy.

IMG_20180519_131757242_HDR.jpg

I had no idea what was on so to come across a talk about the current exhibition of Patrick Heron’s work was delight. At one time I would have been embarrassed because I’d not heard of him but now I welcome the knowledge of finding someone new to me.

Time for tea and scones whilst admiring the roof-scape of the town.

 

A walk back up the hill to the hotel for an indifferent meal and a dance to the 1950’s/60’s singer.

The next day we walked to the Bernard Leach pottery – no cafe there but a diy instant coffee but the exhibition and museum made up for the omission. The workshops look as if they’ve just been left – ready for Bernard  to return at any moment. There was a charming and informative 1950’s  film to watch.

Onto the Barbara Hepworth museum

I’m still unsure if I like her work – she came from a privileged, monied family  so was able to indulge herself in terms of her sculptures. But I enjoyed a tranquil hour sitting in her garden gazing at the installations.

T03137_10.jpg

Finally a walk round several of the galleries – seascapes, harbour scenes, beaches and boats!

Out to eat at The Rum and Crab Shack – ‘could do better’ as the saying goes – my crab still not thawed.

Back to the hotel where I was taught how to waltz by Bob.

The sun had shone for the two days we were there; lots of laughter; lots of art – a magical trip.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.